Back to top

Charles Natoire

Painter, etcher, commercial artist, draughtsman and academy director

Born
1700 in Nîmes
Died
1777 in Castel Gandolfo
School
rococo

5 Works by Charles Natoire

Biography

Natoire's artistic activity is documented equally in Paris and in Rome. Having spent six years in Italy (1723 to 1729) as a 'pensionnaire' at the French Academy in Rome, he returned in 1751 as a follower of F. de Troys to the Académie de France and served as its director until 1774. During his Roman years, he produced one of his major works, the ceiling painting 'The Apotheosis of St Louis' in the church of San Luigi dei Francesi.

His previous activity in Paris during the more than twenty years between 1729 and 1751 is documented in numerous decorations of private and public buildings. Despite all his recognition and popularity, Natoire stood in the shadow of his contemporary F. Boucher, with whom he had shared an apprenticeship under F. Le Moyne before both were inducted into the academy in 1734 and named professors in 1737.

In his series of paintings (the best known being the 'Story of Amor and Psyche' in the Hôtel Soubise, 1739-1742) and in his designs for the Gobelins, he managed to incorporate the most important genres - history, religion, and mythology - into his decorative programs in equal measure.

Despite his adaptation to the preferences and taste of the public, Natoire's painting even in his Paris years was primarily defined by a seemingly classical compositional style, and was therefore more reserved and less successful than the works of Boucher, which wholly emphasised sensuality.

For his drawings, Natoire favoured blue-toned paper and crayon and brush, with which he lent his sheets a distinctly painterly quality.

Persons connected to Charles Natoire

Nach oben

Charles Natoire

Maler, Radierer, Grafiker, Zeichner und Akademiedirektor

Geboren
1700 in Nîmes
Gestorben
1777 in Castel Gandolfo
Stilrichtung
Rokoko

Biografie

Natoires künstlerisches Wirken ist in Paris wie in Rom gleichermaßen überliefert. Nachdem er bereits als Pensionär sechs Jahre in Italien verbracht hatte (1723 bis 1729), kehrte er 1751 als Nachfolger F. de Troys an die Académie de France zurück und leitete diese als Direktor bis 1774. Während jener Zeit schuf er mit dem Deckengemälde „Die Verherrlichung des Hl. Ludwig“ in der Kirche San Luigi dei Francesi eines seiner Hauptwerke.

Seine vorhergehende über zwanzigjährige Tätigkeit in Paris zwischen 1729 und 1751 ist durch zahlreiche Ausstattungen privater wie öffentlicher Gebäude dokumentiert. Trotz aller Anerkennung und Beliebtheit stand Natoire im Schatten seines Generationsgenossen F. Boucher, mit dem er gemeinsam die Lehrzeit bei F. Le Moyne verbracht hatte, bevor beide 1734 in die Akademie aufgenommen und 1737 zu Professoren ernannt wurden.

In seinen Gemäldezyklen (am bekanntesten die „Erzählung von Amor und Psyche“ im Hôtel Soubise 1739-42) sowie in den Entwürfen für die Gobelins gelang es ihm, die wichtigsten Themengattungen - Historie, Religion und Mythologie - gleichermaßen in die Dekorationsprogramme einzubeziehen.

Trotz seines Eingehens auf die Vorlieben und den Geschmack des Publikums war Natoires Malerei auch in der Pariser Zeit vorwiegend von einer klassisch anmutenden Kompositionsweise bestimmt und wirkte somit gegenüber den ganz die Sinnlichkeit betonenden Werken Bouchers zurückhaltender und weniger effektvoll.

Für die Zeichnungen bevorzugte Natoire blaugetöntes Papier sowie Kreide und Pinsel, wodurch er seinen Blättern einen primär malerischen Charakter verlieh.

4 Werke von Charles Natoire

Personen, die mit Charles Natoire in Verbindung stehen