Back to top

Jean-Baptiste Huet

Painter, miniaturist, etcher and commercial artist

Born
1745 in Paris
Died
1810 / 1811 in Paris

5 Works by Jean-Baptiste Huet

Biography

J. B. Huet was the son of a decorative artist, and grew up in the Louvre, so at an early age he knew such artists as F. Boucher and J.-B. Le Prince, both of whom influenced his work in their own way. However, his actual teacher was the animal painter Dagomer.

Huet made his own contribution to the artistic style of his time with pastorals, animal pictures, and ornaments in drawings, paintings, and graphics, not least because his pictorial ideas were taken up and disseminated by various branches of craftsmanship - tapestry manufactories, weavers, and cabinetmakers.

Huet owed his special reputation to his depictions of animals. In them he freed himself from such major precursors as Oudry and Desportes in that he depicted the animals in their actual physical condition and with their individual physiognomic expressions. Thus he was accepted into the Paris Academy in 1769 with a picture, reminiscent of older Netherlandish painting, of a dog lunging after fowl (Louvre).

It was both one of Huet's artistic aims and appropriate to the taste of the time that beginning in roughly 1770 he transferred a large number of his sheets into prints (etchings) or had them reproduced by others, either one of his sons or, especially, G. Demarteau. Intending some of them as teaching materials, he then published individual series as 'cahiers' or 'livres'.

This also explains why Huet, like many of his contemporaries, always exhibited drawings along with his paintings in the Salons, to which he regularly submitted abundant material.

Persons connected to Jean-Baptiste Huet

Nach oben

Jean-Baptiste Huet

Maler, Miniaturmaler, Radierer und Grafiker

Geboren
1745 in Paris
Gestorben
1810 / 1811 in Paris

Biografie

Als Sohn eines Kunsthandwerkers wuchs J. B. Huet im Louvre auf und fand so früh Zugang zu Künstlern wie F. Boucher und J. B. Le Prince, die beide auf ihre Weise sein Werk mitgeprägt haben. Sein eigentlicher Lehrer wurde jedoch der Tiermaler Dagomer.

Mit Pastoralen, Tierdarstellungen und Ornamenten in Zeichnung, Malerei und Graphik hat Huet seinen eigenen Beitrag zum künstlerischen Stil seiner Zeit geleistet; nicht zuletzt weil seine bildnerischen Ideen von verschiedenen Bereichen des Kunsthandwerks - wie Teppichmanufakturen, Stoffwebereien, Kunstschreinereien - aufgenommen und verbreitet wurden.

Seinen besonderen Ruf verdankt Huet jedoch den Tierdarstellungen. Er löste sich dabei von den großen Vorbildern wie Oudry und Desportes, indem er die Tiere in ihrer physischen Beschaffenheit und mit ihrem individuellen physiognomischen Ausdruck schilderte. So wurde er mit einer auch von älterer niederländischer Malerei geprägten Darstellung eines Hundes, der sich auf Geflügel stürzt (Louvre), 1769 in die Pariser Akademie aufgenommen.

Es entspricht sowohl Huets künstlerischen Zielen, aber auch dem allgemeinen Zeitgeschmack, dass er (wohl von Le Prince geschult) ab ca. 1770 einen großen Teil seiner Blätter in Druckgraphik (Radierung) übertrug oder von anderen, z. B. einem seiner Söhne oder vor allem G. Demarteau, graphisch reproduzieren ließ. Zum Teil als Lehrmaterial gedacht, veröffentlichte er dann einzelne Lieferungen als „Cahiers“ oder „Livres“.

Aus diesem Blickwinkel erklärt sich auch, dass Huet wie viele seiner Zeitgenossen in den Salons, die er regelmäßig und mit reichlichem Material beschickte, neben seinen Gemälden immer Zeichnungen gezeigt hat.

5 Werke von Jean-Baptiste Huet

Personen, die mit Jean-Baptiste Huet in Verbindung stehen