Back to top

François Verdier

Painter, draughtsman, copperplate engraver and college professor

Born
1651 in Paris
Died
1730 in Paris

4 Works by François Verdier

Biography

Charles Le Brun was also the primary influence on the artistic activity of François Verdier. He first served as his teacher at the Academy, then later offered him, along with numerous others, work on major royal commissions in the Galerie d'Apollon at the Louvre, in Versailles, and at the Trianon. Even Verdier's stay at the Académie de France in Rome in 1679/80 failed to lessen his dependence on Le Brun.

After his master's death in 1690, as professor at the Academy, Verdier first completed the commissioned works begun for the Trianon until 1698. He then appears in the royal account books with less frequency, since he devoted himself more exclusively to drawing and graphics.

Verdier's clear indebtedness to Le Brun's example is expressed in his direct borrowing of his figural inventions on the one hand, and in his imitation of his drawing style on the other. For that reason, of the countless works attributed to Le Brun, it could be possible on closer inspection to attribute a number of them to François Verdier.

Persons connected to François Verdier

Nach oben

François Verdier

Maler, Zeichner, Kupferstecher und Hochschullehrer

Geboren
1651 in Paris
Gestorben
1730 in Paris

Biografie

Auch für die künstlerische Tätigkeit François Verdiers war Charles Le Brun die prägende Persönlichkeit. Er war zunächst sein Lehrer an der Akademie, später zog er ihn wie viele andere als Mitarbeiter zu den großen königlichen Aufträgen in der Galerie d’Apollon des Louvre, in Versailles und im Trianon hinzu. Selbst ein Aufenthalt Verdiers an der Académie de France in Rom 1679/80 beeinträchtigte seine Abhängigkeit von Le Brun nicht.

Nach dessen Tod 1690 führte auch Verdier als Professor der Akademie zunächst bis 1698 die begonnenen Aufträge für das Trianon weiter aus. Dann erscheint er aber in den königlichen Rechnungen seltener, da er sich immer ausschließlicher der Zeichnung und Graphik gewidmet hat.

Die deutliche Anlehnung Verdiers an das Vorbild Le Brun äußert sich einerseits in der direkten Übernahme von dessen Figurenerfindungen, andererseits in der Nachahmung seines Zeichenstils. Deshalb werden möglicherweise von den zahlreichen Le Brun zugeschriebenen Werken bei genauerer Untersuchung einige für François Verdier gesichert werden können.

4 Werke von François Verdier

Personen, die mit François Verdier in Verbindung stehen